Before I let Go

This book has been the talk of booktok since the fall. I was up in the air about reading it because booktok has a way of hyping books up and they be a complete flop. But I will say with this book they did not disappoint. this book was all of the things they said and more.

Before I let go is about a divorce couple by the name of Yasmen and Josiah Wade. These two thought that their love was going to last forever,but life happened and Yasmen thought it would be batter to call it off. Now co-parenting while running a restaurant together hasn’t been easy. With Josiah still wanting his family back and feeling resentment towards his ex wife.

Things take a full turn when Yasmen and Josiah spend the night in a hotel out of town to expand their family restaurant. Once they come home life isn’t the same. That one night in that hotel change their as they know it. The only question is was the change for the better or for the worse.

Everything about this love story was pulling on my heart strings. I was hoping and praying that love would bring those two back together again. I love how the author in this book shows the power of therapy. And how going can help a relationship. I like how it shows the effect divorce and death can have on children.

This book was hard to put down I just wanted to keep on reading it. It was written so well. It touched on a lot of topics black families go through. I loved that the book had discussion questions that if you have not read the book don’t read them because they can contain som spoilers. And it also had some recipes as well in the back of the book for the famous Aunt Byrd pound cake, Josiah sweet potato pie pancakes and more.

If I have to rate this book I would rate it 5/5. There was nothing that I didn’t like about the book. It didn’t make me cry like some said it made them but it did make my heart smile. I am a sucker for a love story. I enjoyed the ending over all a great book. I would recommend this to my family and friends.