We Over Me

I discovered Devale Ellis on the hit TV show “Sisters” and from then on I was obsessed with his character Zach on the show. I didn’t know anything about his personal life or that he was married to the beautiful Khadeen and they been together since a little before college. So when I found out they was coming out with a book I had to pre order it. They even have a podcast titled “Dead a** with K&D”that I am now going to check out.

In this book they talk about the ups and downs in their relationship and how they made it through it all. They didn’t want to label this book a relationship self help book but they do give out tips that worked for them in this book which I loved. They talk about how they got together and how each of them felt during a certain period of time during their relationship.

They talked about how they made the tough decisions to get an abortion and how it effected them together and them individually. I love reading about this because you would never know what one is thinking or going through during that time. It’s nice to hear people be open and honest.

I didn’t know Devale was a football player in the NFL and was a wide receiver for the Detroit Lions beck in 2006 as a free agent.Devale talked about how being in the NFL was not his long term goal, he stated that he wanted to be in TV and film. Which is crazy to me I mean he is a good actor but I never heard someone say that the NFL wasn’t the end goal for them but yet a stepping stone.

One thing I like about the book is that every now and then either Devale or Khadeem will give you a hot take which is one of them breaking down and giving advice. This whole book is them telling you how they made it to 20 years with all the up and downs and struggles. How to have to communicate and put the work in to really make the relationship last.

I would recommend this book to my friends I found some good things and advice from this book. This book made me want to go check out their podcast and see what other helpful relationships advice they are giving out. I love that they are married and been married for 20 years. That’s a long time and many marriages don’t last that long.

If I had to rate this book I would rate this book a 4/5 stars. I found some helpful resources and tips and this book. It has me looking at love and relationships and marriage in a whole new way. I learned that you have to know your partner’s communication language. And you have to be able to have healthy communication skills. Make sure you check this book out and their podcast out as well. And watch Devale on the hit TV show “Sisters” as Zach.

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/dead-ass-with-khadeen-and-devale-ellis/id1460329478