2nd Chances

2nd Chances is the sequel to the book “The unkept Secrets” by Roselyn Brooks. If you haven’t read that book I highly recommend you read it and come back to the review. I will not be giving away any spoilers but the reviews won’t make any sense if you haven’t ready the 1st book.

We start the book off with Jermaine jr’s high school graduation where he should be happy and ready to start the next chapter of his life but he is so worried about his mother and his 3 sisters. That he really can’t focus on himself. Trying to be the man of the house since his father has died has been hard on him, sisters not listing pretty Much doing they own thing. Mom is in a heavy state of depression that she seems to not be able to come out of .

In this book everyone secrets come to the light one way or another. Even Jermaine Sr. Had a secret that becomes know after his passing. Chance is in jail for what she is thinking the rest of her life for the murder of Jermaine. The twins Lexi and Alli start acting out and the oldest sister Amani was never really home anymore. The family just fell apart after his death.

August was going through it this book. You wouldn’t have believed she was a doctor from the way she was acting on this book. You would of thought she was anything but a mother and a doctor. They moved around a few times after Jermaine’s passing. August was worried that Chance who now goes by the name Ashley would find them.

This book was breaking my heart because I wanted so much for August I wanted to see her win so badly but what’s done in the dark gone always come to the light. So much happened in this book that if I go I to great detail I would give it away. This book was written very well and left no questions about anyone unanswered.

I truly like the Style of the writing in this book like the 1st one where every character is another person’s point of view. Which I think truly helped tell the story. I rated this book 4/5 stars and would recommend it to everyone. I can see myself reading this book again.