Survival Of The Thickest

I am sad to say that I didn’t know about Michelle Buteau until I watched her Netflix series “Survival of the Thickest “. And I loved it. It was 8 episodes all about 20-26 mins long. It was so good I was like Michelle character felt so relatable.

Survival of the thickest is a book about Michelle life written in an essay form. Not quite yet a memoir but pretty close. I really enjoyed reading it and learning more about her and what stories she told in the book made it to the hit Netflix series. I was listing to this book because she is so funny and I just had to have her read it to me. She had me cracking up at times and even crying.

She really took pieces of her life that she wrote in the book and added to the show. It’s nice to know that 80% of the things you see in the show is based on her real life. Some of the stories she put together to make one person. her story on how she met her husband was played out very well in the show and even that part about what happened in the taxi was true. She talked about how her boyfriend before that cheated on her and how that made her feel.

One of my favorite stories that she told in the book was the one about the guy she dated they couldn’t read. It wasn’t suppose to be funny but the way she told the story had me cracking up. I love that the part in the show where he sent her a video of a day in the life was true. When I saw that in the show I was like omg that was so cute.

She talked about the hardships of getting pregnant and how it took a toll on her body and how she ended up with the twins such a beautiful and heartfelt story. I was crying because before reading this book I didn’t know she had kids. Once I was done reading/listing to the book I had to go to her IG page to see the lovely twins.

She talked about working in journalism when 911 happened and how it’s was so hard for her. While she was reading the book to us her tone changed and you can tell that it was hard for her to read it, she sounded like she was going to cry a few times while reading it. You couldn’t help but feel sad and the pain while she was telling us the job she had todo while working for the. Company.

If I had to rate this book I would give it 4/5 I truly enjoyed it and the way it was written. I appreciate her opening up and letting us into her world. I would have gotten into great detail but it would be telling the book and the show. I would highly recommend reading the book then watching the show on Netflix.